About

The Last Trilogy is Michael Adams’ first foray into fiction.

But he has done a lot of other writer stuff.

As a six-year-old kid, he wrote and illustrated a story about flying sharks attacking naval warships. Sometimes, late at night, he thinks Michael Bay might still adapt this action-packed yarn.

Later, in high-school, Michael horrified English teachers with gory creative writing exercises in which aliens and psychopaths eviscerated their victims and feasted on the juicy innards. He considers himself lucky he grew up in an age when such material didn’t necessitate a visit to a headshrinker. There were also a few abortive novel attempts in the vein of Stephen King’s The Stand and The Dead Zone. Both make for rather amusing reading these days.

At age 14, Michael did work experience at Angus & Robertson, one of Australia’s leading publishers, now, sadly, gone the way of the dodo. His boss was Jennifer Rowe, who’d soon start writing crime fiction under her own name and later become better known as phenomenal children’s author Emily Rodda. Inspired by the professional publishing surroundings at A&R, Michael feverishly worked on and submitted a typewritten manuscript for a science fiction film quiz book. While A&R mentioned this submission in their newsletter, they politely declined to publish it. The fools!

Undeterred, Michael soon after published his own cult-movie fanzine, Night Creatures, which lasted three issues in 1986-87. Sadly, all copies are lost to the ages. Around this time he was also runner-up in The Sydney Morning Herald’s inaugural young writer competition, having submitted a yarn about an Englishman plagued by dreams that lead him to attempt to assassinate a dark-haired, pale-faced boy in Austria in 1894.

After completing his HSC, Michael studied journalism at RMIT and began writing for Melbourne newspapers and magazines. Returning to Sydney, he worked on staff at WHO Weekly, The Sydney Weekly, The City Weekly and FHM. Still a movie nut, he was delighted to be appointed Reviews and Features Editor of Empire magazine, and worked in the role for nearly a decade. In 2006, Michael got his first experience on the other side of the screen when he wrote the original script A Flash Exclusive!, which was produced by Bryan Brown with stars Dan Wyllie and Peta Wilson as part of the Nine Network Two Twisted thriller series.

In 2009, Michael finally saw his name on a book when Shining Lights: Legends Of Australia Screen was published. The book was based around in-depth interviews he did with our highest-profile Oscar winners, Cate Blanchett, Russell Crowe, Geoffrey Rush and Nicole Kidman. The highlights were undoubtedly Ms Blanchett having to rush out of the interview for a few minutes to attend to one of her boys’ toilet troubles and helping Mr Rush drag his bins out to the kerb in Camberwell.

coverart

In 2007, Michael embarked on an odyssey to find the worst movie ever made by watching a trashy film a day for a whole year. The resulting book, Showgirls, Teen Wolves And Astro Zombies, was published in 2010 in Australia by Murdoch Books and in the US by HarperCollins’ imprint It! Books. Fittingly, at least one reviewer on Amazon has called it “the worst book every written”. The New Yorker even mentioned it, though they weren’t that happy he didn’t include enough bad chick flicks.

ShowgirlsCover-thumb-233x351-27981

Also in 2007, Michael was chosen from open audition to co-host The Movie Show on SBS with Lisa Hensley. The gig lasted a year and included film reviews done while ice skating, nursing a stinky lamb and being photobombed by a person in a huge rabbit suit. He also interviewed The Rock and was dazzled by the whiteness of his choppers. Seriously, those things shine.

In 2010, Michael did another stint on screen as anchor and writer of The Movie Club on Showtime. A highlight of this year was an extended interview with the late and very lovely Robin Williams, conducted with his friend and colleague, Chris Murray.

After 2010, Michael worked as a regular contributor to Movieline.com and RottenTomatoes.com. He was also the staff writer for Network Ten’s The Renovators and MasterChef Season 4 and has scripted a few episodes of the Seven Network’s soapie Home And Away. At present he is working as a producer-writer for Nine’s new show The Hot Plate.

Michael continues to contribute magazine articles to Empire, Rolling Stone and Men’s Style. He is particularly proud of a recent feature investigating Australia’s forgotten 1930s movie starlet, Mary Maguire (April issue, 2015).

MARYMAGUIRE

From 2010 to 2012, Michael and his family were chosen from 160 applicants to be Australia’s first “Smart Home Family”  and blog about living in an eco-friendly, tech-heavy house in Newington, NSW. The project had its ups and downs, not least a cutting-edge air-con that refused to work during an extended 40-degree-plus heatwave and iMiev electric car that ran out of juice half way up the Blue Mountains.

SMARTHOME

Michael’s new middle-grade fiction series The Seven Signs will be published by Scholastic Australia from July 2015. He is also working on a historical epic set in Sydney, LA and Berlin during the 1930s.

As much as he loves writing, Michael is probably happiest op-shopping. He admits to finding writing this in the third person quite odd.

2 thoughts on “About

  1. Don says:

    Hello Michael, I just read your article, Our Forgotten Star. (I sent you the videotape of That Man’s Here Again last year.) Fascinating, sad, and beautifully written piece. To me, Mary Maguire’s appeal was her uniquely vulnerable beauty. Again, an excellent article!
    Regards

    • michaeladamswrites says:

      Hi Don – many thanks! I rewatched That Man’s Here Again recently. Very charming. I’m gradually working my way towards a full biography of her, though the latter part of her life is very difficult to research.
      Best,
      Michael

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s